Solanaceae Source

A global taxonomic resource for the nightshade family

Aug 21st, 2020 - Xavier Aubriot

Next SOL Seminar Online will be presented by Xavier Aubriot on Towards a taxonomic revision of tropical Asian spiny solanums

Abstract. With more than 500 species, the ‘spiny solanums’ clade (Solanum L. subgenus Leptostemonum Bitter) corresponds to the most species rich of the major Solanum lineages. For the past decade, hypotheses on the evolutionary history of the group have been gradually refined. But as could be expected for such a large lineage, improvements of our understanding of spiny solanums taxonomy have been even more gradual. Tropical Asian spiny solanums in particular are particularly understudied, not having been revised in their entirety since the 19th century. If the Asian eggplant (S. melongena L.) and a couple of related taxa are both well-known and extensively collected, many species are in urgent need of revision. Over the past 6 years, extensive examination of historical collections has led to the recognition of 36 native species for tropical Asia, including two newly described species; for each species comprehensive nomenclatural treatments and IUCN Red List assessments will be provided. Phylogenetic and biogeographic affinities of the Asian species are clearly composite (Africa, Australia and South-America) and tropical Asia seems to act as a dispersal route between the landmasses of Africa and Australia; but these hypotheses will need confirmation using an improved phylogenetic backbone and a broader species sampling.

When? Friday 21th August, 4 pm (GMT+1)

The zoom link to join the meeting is Meeting ID: 943 3314 6166, password: Solanaceae

Watch this talk again:

Friday, August 21, 2020 - 16:00
Mon, 2020-08-17 14:02 -- rocio

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith