Solanaceae Source

A global taxonomic resource for the nightshade family

Sept 3rd, 2021 - Aarón Rodríguez Contreras

Next SolSeminar will be presented by Aarón Rodríguez Contreras on Species richness distribution of Solanaceae in Mexico

Abstract. Globally, vascular plant diversity concentrates in mountainous areas within the tropics.  Mexican plant diversity shows a similar pattern.  The main mountains chains of Mexico form the Mexican Transition Zone (MTZ) with five biogeographical provinces: the Sierra Madre Occidental, the Sierra Madre Oriental, the Transmexican Volcanic Belt, the Sierra Madre del Sur and the Chiapas Highlands.  Mexico harbors 388 species of Solanaceae, grouped in 34 genera.  133 species are endemic.  These numbers make the country a Solanaceae diversity center.  However, species richness distribution is unevenly.  The prediction is that the taxonomic richness of Solanaceae concentrates along the MTZ.  We have analyzed the spatial distribution of taxonomic richness of the genera Solanum (134 species) and Lycianthes (44 species), plus the Physalidinae clade (11 genera and 107 species).  In addition, we uncovered centers of endemism.  The occurrence database contained 20,614 records.  All analyses recovered cells with high species richness and endemism located along the MTZ.  In Mexico, the diversity of Solanaceae can be explained by long distance dispersal from South America followed by within-area speciation.  Further, geological and climatic events of the MTZ facilitated its diversification.

When? Friday Sept 3rd 4 pm (GMT+1)

The zoom link to join the meeting is Meeting ID: 943 3314 6166, password: Solanaceae

Watch this talk in TouTube:

Friday, September 3, 2021 - 16:30
Wed, 2022-01-19 16:38 -- rocio

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith