Solanaceae Source

A global taxonomic resource for the nightshade family

Aug 20th, 2021 - Jaime Simbaqueba

Next SolSeminar will be presented by Jaime Simbaqueba on Novel effectors identified from the genomic resources of Fusarium oxysporum f. sp. physali (Foph): a pathogen of cape gooseberry (Physalis peruviana) plants

Abstract. The vascular wilt disease caused by the fungus Fusarium oxysporum f. sp. physali (Foph) is one of the most limiting factors for the production and export of cape gooseberry (Physalis peruviana) in Colombia. Transcriptomics in Foph suggests high specificity towards cape gooseberries thus classified as a new f. sp. Then, we sequenced and assembled the genome of five strains of Foph, focusing on the validation of the presence of homologous and putative effectors unique to Foph. Phylogenomic analyses based on single-copy orthologes, showed that Foph is closely related to F. oxysporum ff. spp., associated with solanaceous hosts. We also confirmed the presence of highly identical homologous genomic regions between Foph and Fol that contain effector genes and identified six new putative effector genes, specific to Foph pathogenic strains These results suggest the polyphyletic origin of Foph and the putative independent acquisition of new candidate effectors in different clades of related strains. The novel effector candidates identified in this genomic analysis, represent new sources involved in the interaction between Foph and cape gooseberry, that could be implemented to develop appropriate management strategies.

When? Friday 20th Aug 4 pm (GMT+1)

The zoom link to join the meeting is Meeting ID: 943 3314 6166, password: Solanaceae

Thursday, August 19, 2021 - 13:45
Wed, 2021-08-25 14:00 -- rocio

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith